About us

Future Earth Australia, based at the Australian Academy of Science, is a national initiative that enables Australian researchers, governments, industry, peak bodies, and civil society to connect and collaborate on sustainability transitions.

Future Earth

We are a national node in the global Future Earth network, which works under the auspices of the International Science Council.

We partner with anyone researching or implementing sustainability knowledge and action and particularly those working on systemic co-design and co-produced outcomes for the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals. We aim to initiate and develop relationships that enable collaborative action for societal transformation.

Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals call for action by all countriespoor, rich and middle-incometo promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognise that ending poverty must go together with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, social protection and job opportunities while tackling climate change and environmental protection. Future Earth is advancing sustainability by enabling and translating the SDGs from research to practice.

Our mission

Future Earth Australia aims to establish an interconnected knowledge platform of expertise and creativity capable of forming solutions to the sustainability challenges facing Australia, our regional neighbours, and the globe.

2022 - 2025 Strategic Plan

Future Earth Australia is pleased to present its 2022-2025 Strategic Plan "Accelerating Sustainability through Science Impact and Engagement"

Our team

Future Earth Australia is overseen by a steering committee comprising representatives of member organisations and broader community representatives. The Executive Committee of the Australian Academy of Science's Council provides high level oversight. The Future Earth Australia advisory council includes thought-leaders and influencers in Australian sustainability.

Future Earth Australia Secretariat

Petra Lundgren
Dr Petra Lundgren
Kate Nairn
Research and Policy Officer
Research and Policy Assistant
Anna Pradhan
Research and Policy Assistant

Steering Committee

Professor Juan Salazar (Co-chair)
Western Sydney University
Professor Tim Smith (Co-chair)
University of the Sunshine Coast
Gabriele Bammer
Professor Gabriele Bammer
The Australian National University
Paul Bertsch
Dr Paul Bertsch
Stuart Bunn
Professor Stuart Bunn
Griffith University
Tony Capon
Professor Tony Capon
Monash University
Anna Lintern
Dr Anna Lintern
ECRP Representative
Jemma Purandare
Jemma Purandare
ECRP Representative
Lauren Rickards
Professor Lauren Rickards
David Schlosberg
Professor David Schlosberg
University of Sydney

Advisory Council

Professor Ian Chubb AC FAA FACE FTSE
Professor Ian Chubb AC FAA FACE FTSE
Chair (Former Chief Scientist of Australia)


U Syd